Hawaiʻi Legislature

Hawaiʻi State Legislature

The Hawaiʻi State Legislature is one of the three branches of Hawaiʻi’s state government. Its powers are co-equal to those of the executive and judicial branches. The legislative branch makes laws, the executive branch implements and enforces the law, and the judicial branch interprets them.

The Hawai‘i State Legislature consists of 25 members in the Senate who serve staggered four-year terms and 51 members in the House of Representatives who are elected every two years. The presiding officer of the Senate is the Senate President and the presiding officer of the House of Representatives is the Speaker of the House.

Go to Page

Hawaiʻi Revised Statutes

Visit the Hawaiʻi State Legislature site to search the Hawaiʻi revised statutes. Alternately you may view the table of contents or browse the HRS sections.

Go to Page

Administrative Rules

View the Administrative Rules for each department.

Go to Page

Public Access Room

PAR provides the public with information, facilities, and services to assist them as they engage and participate in the State legislative process.

Go to Page

Citizen’s Guide to the Legislative Process

The guide contains a wealth of relevant information which includes: an overview of the legislative process, the legislative timetable, testimony guidelines, committee information, contact information for legislators, resource center information, and more.

Go to Page

Hawaiʻi State Constitution

Browse the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi.

Go to Page